My Tennessee Titans’ seven-round mock draft

by

Draft day is less than a week away and as the case with most of you, I’ve absorbed more than my fair share of mock drafts.

Armchair general managers have attempted to get into the head of GM Mike Reinfeldt in their efforts to predict the outcome of the Tennessee Titans’ selections next weekend.

Move over, Mel Kiper Jr., Todd McShay and countless others: it’s my turn to play GM in the quest to guess what the Titans will do on draft day.

Ladies and gentlemen, I present to you my seven round mock draft for the Tennessee Titans.

First Round: Alphonso Smith CB Wake Forest

This shouldn’t be a surprise to anyone, considering this is the guy Andrew and I chose in a recent MVN Outsider Mock Draft.

What the diminutive Smith lacks in size, he more than makes up for with his impressive playmaking ability. In addition to making the lives miserable of opposing quarterbacks, Smith isn’t afraid to get his uniform dirty playing the run.

Coming off of abdominal surgery while also approaching the age of 35, veteran starting CB Nick Harper isn’t going to play forever. Drafting Phonso would provide the Titans with a long-term starter opposite of the emerging Cortland Finnegan and a short-term bandaid if Harper is still feeling the ill-effects of his surgical procedure.

Second Round: Brian Robiskie WR Ohio State  

Robiskie has the intangibles and the pedigree to become a solid WR in the NFL one day. He isn’t the fastest of guys, but he’s sure-handed, a good blocker and runs great routes.

Sure, his forty-yard dash times are pedestrian compared to the blazing performances of Darrius Heyward-Bey and Percy Harvin. However, Robiskie is a player who is much further along than the two aforementioned players in terms of knowing how to play the WR position.

Brian would be a solid value for the Titans in the second round, IMO.

Third Round: Jason Williams OLB Western Illinois

As we’ve mentioned more than a few times on this site, the Titans are in need of someone to groom as a future starter at OLB.

Enter Western Illinois’ Jason Williams. Despite not receiving an invite to this year’s NFL Combine, “J-Will” has become one of the draft’s most talked about prospects as a result of his stellar private workouts with almost half of the league’s teams, including the Tennessee Titans.

Jason’s combination of college production and impressive workout numbers could result in the Titans scooping him up in the third round.

Fourth Round (1): James Davis RB Clemson

Davis is tough, physical runner who would provide a powerful punch to the Titans’ rushing attack. With LenDale White entering a contract season, a guy such as Davis could emerge as Smash’s eventual replacement.

Fourth Round (2) Joel Bell OT Furman

Daniel Loper’s departure has created a void at backup tackle. Mike Otto is still around but at this point in his career, he’s done nothing to distinguish himself as a bonefide player on the NFL level.

As I mentioned in a recent article, Bell is an intriguing guy with good size and athleticism who would provide the Titans with some depth at the tackle position.

Fifth Round: Roy Miller DT Texas

Miller is a high-character guy who produced on the college-level, but due to his perceived lack of upside, isn’t a highly regarded pro prospect.

Despite the lack of love from the scouts, Miller is exactly the kind of player who could easily outperform everyone’s expectations. 

Sixth Round (1): Davon Drew TE/HB East Carolina

Due to Bo Scaife’s unhappiness with the franchise tag, I wouldn’t be shocked at all if the Titans draft his potential future replacement.

Selecting a guy from East Carolina worked well for the Titans last year, so hopefully, Drew can join Chris Johnson as the second consecutive ex-Pirate to make an impact in Nashville.

Sixth Round (2): Brandon Swain DE West Texas A&M

A potential small-school gem, Swain could become a nice developmental project at DE.

Here’s another reason why I like this kid:

DraftSeason: Which current NFL player would you most compare yourself too?

Brandon: I would compare myself to Keith Bulluck LB for the Titans. Because he always makes plays and puts stats up, but people never talk about him as one of the best linebackers in the league.

Mike Reinfeldt, I hope your paying attention.

Seventh Round (1): Cecil Newton C Tennessee State

Newton’s another small-school guy with the potential to develop into a player in the future. He’d provide the Titans with some young depth at the center position.

Seventh Round (2): Frantz Joseph MLB Florida Atlantic

A guy that Andrew mentioned in a recent article, Joseph is a physical guy who produced against lesser competition. He’s a very instinctive player with the smarts to play the MLB position in the pros, but his inability to cover the pass is why he could slip to lower rounds of the draft.

Ok, Titan fans: What do you think of the picks? If you don’t agree with the players I selected, feel free to post your own mock draft selections in the comments’ section of this article.    

8 Responses to “My Tennessee Titans’ seven-round mock draft”

  1. Andrew K Says:

    Overall I really like your mock, but I think that Robiskie will be gone by our pick in the second round, I think he will go like 40-45. Also, I do not believe that we NEED a corner in the first round.
    Rather, I would love to see us taken Alex Mack, who I believe could be a pro bowl caliber center for 10 years to come and would be Mawea’s replacement. For all of us that watched last years playoff game vs the Ravens, Leroy Harris got his butt whipped and I have very little faith that he can be the guy. Plus, we need offensive line depth. Mack can also play guard, so we bring him in to compete at guard for his rookie year, and if he starts great if he does not he will start next year at center when Mawae is a free agent or retires. And Honestly Mawae is a 38 years old, do you honestly think he will go through an entire year healthy, I don’t!
    Then I would take a WR in the 3rd and hope a guy like Ramses Barden falls to us, or maybe even a guy like Mike Wallace?
    Other than that I really like your Mock, especially James Davis, who would be a steal in the 4th, and Roy Miller, who is can be a solid DT in the 5th.

  2. Scott Says:

    I like your draft picks Drex (or at least most of them), and if the Titans ended up with this group, I would be pretty happy. I take my hat off to you for doing this as well. I know it is not the easiest thing to do to come up with ten players that might be of interest to the Titans and that will still be available when the Titans pick in each round – especially when you get to rounds 5, 6 and 7.
    I do though have a few different opinions on the draft. First, if Laurinaitis is still available at No. 30, the Titans will, I believe, take him before they take Smith. I am also not sure that Robiskie will still be there at pick 62. If he is, I think he would be a great pick. The Williams pick in the third round is a bit of reach for me. I think he will be a fine player (and a good pick), but I am betting that he will still be available at the end of round 4. As for James Davis, this is the only guy on your list that I hope is not drafted by the Titans. I was disappointed with him last year and I am not sure that he is a strong between the tackles runner. I would prefer that the Titans take Jeremiah Johnson or Glenn Coffee at that spot, or perhaps even in the 5th round, and use the 4th round to pick up another CB, DT or OG.
    Here are my picks, which build on yours.
    1. J. Laurinaitis (MLB)
    2. D.J. Moore (CB)
    3. M. Massaquoi or L. Murphy (WR)
    4. J. Williams (OLB)
    4. J. Bell (OT)
    5. J. Johnson (RB)
    6. D. Drew (TE)
    6. S.L. Hill (DT)
    7. C. Newton (OG)
    7. L. Webb (CB)

  3. jake villeneuve Says:

    ok no way robiskie last to the second round.. i actually think he is going to be our first round pick.. if u think about it our new gm drafts guys in the first that usally would go middle second. he also takes people that people might not know but knows they are going to be nice football players.

  4. Bob Loblaw Says:

    Jake, Robiskie might not be there at 62, but there’s no way that he’s in the top 30 on the Titans’ draft board. I could see the Titans trading up in the 2nd round to get him, but he’s not worth the 30th overall pick.
    Drex, I love the Alphonso Smith pick.

  5. Andrew Strickert Says:

    Although I don’t know much about some of those guys, I generally like both Drexel’s and Scott’s mocks. Robiskie’s stock has been rising and I agree he won’t be there at #62.
    While I like Alphonso Smith, I believe Lauranitis has more value. Here’s my mock:
    1. James Lauranaitis, MLB, Ohio State
    2. Mike Mickens, CB, Cincinnati
    3. Louis Murphy, WR, Florida
    4a. Roy Miller, DT, Texas
    4b. Kenny McKinley, WR, South Carolina
    5. Don Carey, CB, Norfolk State
    6a. DeAndre Levy, OLB, Wisconsin
    6b. Tiquan Underwood, WR, Rutgers
    7a. Alex Fletcher, C/G, Stanford
    7b. Seth Olsen, G/T, Iowa

  6. Drexel Perry Says:

    Thanks for commenting guys…good input from all of you.
    Gonna be interesting to see how it all plays out on draft day.
    Can’t wait!

  7. Triz Says:

    What? Its not the same playoff game I watched. I think that Leroy did great. He had a few mistakes, but who wouldnt in playoff game against the Ravens and with almost no experience. Im actually convinced, that Titans believe and trust in Harris to be the future man when Mawae stops.
    A. Mack is a good player, but we have more urgent needs. I hope they take a LB(Laurentius or one of the USC guys).

  8. rick Says:

    I would almost prefer that we trade out of 30 and pick up two 2nd round picks. Maybe trade with the Patriots; they have all these picks in the first 60 and limited roster spots. If we can accumulate 3 total 2nd round picks; i think we’ll have a great draft. It seems most of the value is in 25-50 range of this draft.
    I know it will never happen like this but could you imagine getting Harvin (top of 2nd round) Robiskie and DJ Moore. That would be great.

Leave a Reply

