Tennessee Titans select DT Sen’Derrick Marks in 2nd round

by

Perhaps inspired by Albert Haynesworth’s departure, the Tennessee Titans addressed the defensive tackle position by taking Auburn’s Sen’Derrick Marks with the 62nd pick in the second round.  

Marks is a young and talented DT who decided to pass up his senior year to enter the 2009 Draft. He’s a guy that I mentioned as a draft day possibility for the Titans in an article a few weeks ago.

Known for his agility and athleticism, Marks has the ability to emerge as a viable contributor down the road, especially with DL coach Jim Washburn yelling expletives in his ear on a routine basis.

Considering what he wrote in his personal draft diary, it should be no surprise that his NFL journey will begin in the city of Nashville:

“The Tennessee Titans flew me in for a visit. They didn’t spend much time making physical assessments, though, and seemed more interested in getting to know me as a person. I guess they wanted to see how I act around people, how well I can relate with people.”

“I really liked it there. Everyone from (head coach) Jeff Fisher on down acted like normal people the whole time, which was really cool.”

What are your thoughts on the Titans’ new defensive tackle?  

5 Responses to “Tennessee Titans select DT Sen’Derrick Marks in 2nd round”

  1. Bob Loblaw Says:

    When was the last time Titans fans were excited about a 2nd round pick? We know this guy isn’t a workout warrior, so hopefully he’s more like last year’s 2nd rounder than ’07’s. I was hoping they might move up to get a CB, but hey, I had more fun than Cowboys & Bears fans tonight.

  2. Kevin G Says:

    bob put it very well, I like him as a person and I am sure that he will be a contributer in the DT rotation. This also seems to indicate to me that Kevin Vickerson is now the odd man out, and will need an incredible camp to avoid being cut, because I cannot see the titans having 5 DT on the active roster. I would have rather seen a CB because of our lack of depth there.
    I am worried about our lack of size on the interior. Marks is our only DT over 300, and he just over that. He is not a huge nose tackle type. I am worried about getting attacked on the interior by teams with bigger guards and centers since we do not have that 330+ nose tackle anymore. I am probably over reacting though, this is a good, if unexpected pick. I have faith that Reinfeldt will find a good contributor, go titans!!

  3. Morgan Says:

    D linemen do thrive in Nashville but this guy did 16 bench reps. I think Brady Quinn did more. I cant type anymore, im going to a corner to hang my head in shame.

  4. beedee Says:

    Marks is the real deal and has often named big al as the person he most wants to emulate. Sen’Derrick welcome to Nashville, you’re gonna love it. War Eagle! Go Titans!

  5. Scott Says:

    I don’t mind this pick at all. I would have expected a corner (DJ Moore), but a DT makes some sense as well. I agree with Kevin G. that Vickerson is the odd man out. With Jones, Haye and Brown already on the team, I didn’t think that DT was as big a need as CB and LB, but if Fisher and Reinfeld think that Marks is the best availbale player, then I give them the benefit of the doubt. And I think that Washburn will be able to get the most out of him.
    Most draft experts seem to have Marks as a late 2 or 3, so taking him with the 62nd pick is about right. A number articles that I have read seem to think that Marks has upside and suggest that he should have stayed in school for another year to improve his draft stock, but I bet he can learn more and develop faster playing for Washburn as part of a four man rotation.

Leave a Reply

